[How to Throw a] Christmas Luau – Part II

This year, my family changed our traditional Christmas Eve party into a wild Hawaiian bash! Everyone wore flowered shirts, leis and flip flops and the house was covered in palm tree cut-outs and crepe paper parrots. In addition to drinking tropical cocktails out of coconut cups, we served Jell-O shots, gummy bears soaked in vodka and cake pops infused with liquor!

This Santa sculpture sat by the front door and held the leis that our visitors received upon arrival. It kind of looks like he has dreds!

This Santa sculpture sat by the front door and held the leis that our visitors received upon arrival. It kind of looks like he has dreds!

Everyone was "lei'd" at the door

Everyone was “lei’d” at the door

Every wall in the house had something Hawaiian on it.

Every wall in the house had something Hawaiian on it.

Tiki head cups my parents dug out of their basement - perfect for tropical drinks!

Tiki head cups my parents dug out of their basement – perfect for tropical drinks!

Jell-O shots: Strawberry Margarita, Pineapple, Mango and Fruit Punch

Jell-O shots: Strawberry Margarita, Pineapple, Mango and Fruit Punch

Vodka-soaked gummy bears: so easy, so strong, so good

Vodka-soaked gummy bears: so easy, so strong, so good

One of the best parts of the luau was the spiked cake pop bar. Guests selected a cake pop, a liquor to infuse it with and used the syringe to shoot up the cake pop with the liquor! It’s hard to mess up spiked cake pops and we had a variety of liquors to choose from – peppermint, sugar cookie, salted caramel…. delicious!

Cake pop bar - choose a cake pop, choose your liquor and shoot it up (syringe included, thanks to my uncle who

Cake pop bar – choose a cake pop, choose your liquor and shoot it up (syringe included, thanks to my uncle who’s a doctor.)

One of my newest obsessions is Pinterest and there were plenty of crafts I found that were perfect for luaus! I made this cocktail umbrella wreath thanks to a great idea from a fellow Pinner!

Cocktail umbrellas have so many good uses!

Cocktail umbrellas have so many good uses!

I think one of the reasons our themed Christmas parties are so highly anticipated is because of the “costumes” we get to wear. Whether it’s ugly sweaters or Hawaiian shirts, it’s fun to dress up pretend!

My younger brother wore a shirt my grandma brought back from Hawaii. The hat, courtesy of Goodwill.

My younger brother wore a shirt my grandma brought back from Hawaii. The hat, courtesy of Goodwill.

September and me donning our Hawaiian getup!

September and me donning our Hawaiian getup!

After a few drinks, my cousin thought the hibiscus flower clips looked mighty fine in his hair (rather, clipped to his head.)

After a few drinks, my cousin thought the hibiscus flower clips looked mighty fine in his hair (rather, clipped to his head.)

Throughout the night, many conga lines were danced.

IMG_1051

Many family portraits were taken during the evening.

IMG_1022

My aunt, uncle and cousins… pre-partying the actual party.

My immediate family: Brother, mom, dad and myself.

73623_652628311037_632807775_n

Mele Kalikimaka!

September, me, and my younger brother Philip

September, me, and my younger brother Philip

One of my favorite family Christmas traditions is lighting the bayberry candle. Each Christmas Eve, we light a long, bayberry candle. The candle has to burn down by midnight and then the next year will be full of good luck. We do this every year, regardless of the crazy party theme.

Bayberry candle burning on Christmas Eve

Bayberry candle burning on Christmas Eve

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

