How to Eat Vegetarian in Thailand

Thailand, I am convinced, is one of the most beautiful countries in the world. It is a frequent stop for backpackers traveling throughout southeast Asia because it is an inexpensive paradise that is absolute bliss. The weather is perfect (most of the time), the food is fantastic and the people are genuinely kind.

I have been a vegetarian for as long as September and I have been together – so, about 7 1/2 years. Visiting Thailand as a vegetarian can be difficult if you are strict about avoiding things like shrimp paste, oyster sauce, fish sauce or chicken broth. For me, I was willing to overlook these things in the name of green curry. Curry is my favorite food and there is no better place to eat authentic, spicy, coconutty curry than in Thailand. (India also has amazing curry I’ve been told but it’s not as coconutty as Thai curries). I just didn’t want to eat chunks of meat. If you’re a vegan (or even if you’re a stricter vegetarian than I am), Mark Wiens wrote a great article on The Vegetarian’s Guide to Thailand Travel that I recommend reading. He gives some key Thai phrases to help foreigners explain their vegetarian/vegan dietary needs. To see what my vegetarian adventures were like in Thailand, keep scrolling!

My favorite!!!

Green curry with tofu and veggies - AMAZING!!

Even the monkeys enjoy a healthy vegetarian snack (i.e.: bananas)!

Monkeys come right on your boat if you leave bananas out for them!

Luckily, the monkeys don’t have a knack for pina coladas in coconuts!

I’m not a fan of pina coladas usually but this was made with real coconut milk in a REAL COCONUT. Can’t pass that up!

Thailand has loads of fresh seafood available – just about anything you could ask for!

Fresh, GIANT lobsters in Koh Samui. They were the size of house cats - no joke!

And even whole pigs roasting over open fires!

I have to admit, this smelled pretty good.

But since I was eating only vegetarian food, this is what my dinners usually look liked:

An appetizer of veggie spring rolls (and chicken satay for my friend) before our green curry!

At our favorite beach-side restaurant. (Literally, on the beach. There was no floor – just sand!)

Beach Bar Phuket in Patong Beach

There are many choices for vegetarians in Thailand, it just depends on how picky you want to be. For me, it was more important to eat my favorite food and experience as much of the local tastes as possible (without actually eating meat chunks) but there’s no reason why you couldn’t do that on a vegan diet. Just make sure to learn some key phrases (if you don’t already speak Thai) – it’s hard to go wrong with Thai food!

Happy feasting!

Categories: Adventure, Asia, Backpacking, Explore, Food, Globetrotting, Nature, Thailand, Top Knotch Gear, Travel | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “How to Eat Vegetarian in Thailand

  1. George Yorks

    Vegetarian foods are great and tasty, i shifted to vegan diet a couple of years ago and my body has been very good. *:.:,

    Our own web blog
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

