24 Lesson’s I’ve Learned in 24 Years

Today is my (Morgan’s) 24th birthday! And instead of writing a post about my favorite birthday memories (like the time when I turned 4 and I rejected my grandparents’ birthday presents because I ‘didn’t order them’ or the time when I turned 21, bar-hopped all evening and failed my chemistry final exam the next morning, having to retake chem in summer school), I made a list of 24 lessons I have learned in my 24 years of life. It’s quite a fun and rather insightful exercise if you’ve never done it before! So here goes:
  1. Things happen for a reason. These reasons may not become apparent for years but there are always reasons for everything.
  2. The human body is the most amazing machine in the world. The things it can do are absolutely incredible.
  3. Enjoy the first snow – even though it usually means 6 more months of winter in Michigan, the first snow is without a doubt, beautiful.
  4. Sometimes our best just isn’t good enough but it makes us stronger and more courageous when we have tried our hardest.
  5. Travel changes your world perspective forever and it continues to evolve during each trip you take.
  6. Having a pet gives an energy to a space that nothing else can fill.
  7. Drink water.
  8. Explore unfamiliar places.
  9. Karma really does exist – in my experience.
  10. Sunshine makes everything in life better and happier.
  11. Go snorkeling. The world under the water’s surface is exquisite and everyone should see it in their lifetimes.
  12. Being in love ROCKS.
  13. Every family is quirky and dysfunctional in their own way but that’s what makes them so special.
  14. Photographs are great ways to capture moments – never hesitate to snap the shutter.
  15. Don’t force your system of beliefs onto other people. The world is so unique because everything believes different things. Plus, it makes for more interesting conversations with others.
  16. Recycle everything.
  17. Stand up for what you believe in – even if you’re standing alone.
  18. Love unconditionally.
  19. “If you think you can, you can. If you think you can’t, you can’t.” (Words of wisdom from my dad.)
  20. Communication makes life easier, less confusing and all around more enjoyable.
  21. Volunteer. Helping others in any capacity is awesome!
  22. Thai curry is one of the best foods on the planet.
  23. Travel light.
  24. There’s always next time…

Break dancing on a pier in Michigan. That's Lake Huron in the background.

Me (Morgan) at a football game my senior year in college - American football that is, not soccer.

Categories: Adventure, Animals, Asia, Backpacking, Circumnavigation, Communication, Disaster Relief, Donation, Family, Food, Global Aid, Globetrotting, Green Living, Hiking, Love, Nature, Outdoors, Packing, Pets, Photography, Random, Snorkeling, Sustainability, Thailand, Trails, Transportation, Travel, Uncategorized, Volunteer, Water | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “24 Lesson’s I’ve Learned in 24 Years

  1. TheBlackTwig

    I especially like 1,5, 8, 12 and 23. Thanks for this post; I’m now thinking of 26 lessons I learned in 26 years. 🙂

    • I was surfing the net one day and saw that a woman did this on her birthday – thought it was a neat way to “reflect” and wanted to share! We’ll have to start following your blog! Can’t wait to read what your 26 lessons would be! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

